Free writing: My panacea

Hello everyone! I apologize because I haven’t posted in a while. I haven’t had time even to go grab a snack… haha kidding… but almost like that.

Because of my lack of leisure time, I decided to freewrite about my most valuable possessions.

IMG_0477

Some of my most valuable items are the two racquets you can see in the picture above. They are the first tennis racquets I broke and the 3rd pair of racquets I got. They are the babolat Z lite blue model. My father gave them to me for my first tennis tournament on 2011.

I name every racquet I get and these two are called Ace and Deuce. Ace is a winning serve that is not even touched by the opponent and deuce is when the score is 40-40.

IMG_0476

Ace and deuce are not only valuable to me but symbolic as well. They represent constant effort, discipline, determination, sacrifices and a whole bunch of defeats. They represent experience, lots of matches, my first tournament and my first won match. With Ace and deuce I learned the meaning of self-control and commitment, with them I overcame feelings of anger, fear, nervousness and deception.

Currently I have them under my bed and I used them as a before-match ritual. I like to count the strings until 7 and sense them with my hands. This ritual helps me to concentrate and to focus on my match strategy.

I plan to keep my racquets until I am able to. They are my panacea.

IMG_0475

Leave a Reply

